Sunday, 4 December 2016

So The Path Does Not Die, 2012, Pede Hollist ****

Fina is snatched away by her father from the middle of an initiation rituals that her grand mother has prepared for her in the forrest. Following that, she left her village to the city with her parents and little sister. Life in the city is not as promised, she loses her father and is forced to leave the country for the U.S.A. Life in  America is not as expected either, however, there are opportunities so she grabs them.

Nevertheless, she still does not feel she belongs, somehow in many ways her past continues to haunt her, she feels that there is a circle in her past life in Sierra Leone that is not yet closed. However, how does she return back home if her country is in the throes of a civil war and all her family members are dead or displaced.

Will this feeling of not belonging let her lead a peaceful and fulfilling life in

Sunday, 27 November 2016

Kindle Scout—Another Publication Option for African Genre Fiction by P. Zoro


Getting a literary agent is next to impossible, and traditional publishing deals remain an unattainable dream to most writers. Markets are also limited to the writer’s local country except where the writer is signed on by an international publisher. However, over the last decade, African writers like Nnedi Okorafor have expanded into genre fiction. The advent of e-books and self-publishing platforms like Amazon and Smashwords have also changed the landscape. 

Kindle Scout might just change everything for African writers. Kindle Scout is a

Blogger Spotlight: Reading Pleasure ~ A blog of books and literature

Celestine Nudanu is the owner and creator of Reading Pleasure ~ A blog of books and literature. She is from Ghana where she lives and blogs from. She studied English with Theatre Arts for her undergraduate program and International Affairs for her graduate degree. She is a Senior Assistant Registrar, coordinating Administrative Systems with the University of Professional Studies, Legon, Accra-Ghana. She is also author of HAIKU RHAPSODIES (Verses from Ghana)


What inspired you to start a book blog?
I've always loved reading; from as far back as I can remember. In school I used to sit up late with my friends discussing books we had read. So the love for books and the discussions led me to believe that I could review the books I read on my blog, especially when I realised others were doing exactly that on their blogs. I believe that reviews on my blog would generate a healthy discussion among book lovers all over the blogosphere. 

Do you blog for a living?

Sunday, 20 November 2016

The Official Wife, 1993, Mary Karooro Okurut ***

The Official Wife is the story of Liz and her husband, upper middle class Ugandans. She narrates on how her husband falls out of love with her and starts to love another woman and is determined to be a polygamist. Not only that, he also comes to be psychologically abusive. First of all he develops a tendency to promiscuity, has  an affair with the housemaid, disgraces his wife in front of her house employees. Liz, on the other hand, instead of walking away from a man that apparently do not value her worth, she decides to win back his love. One of the most demeaning chapter to read was when she learns the name of the hotel and the room number where her husband is lodged with his lover, she decides

Sunday, 13 November 2016

Blogger Spotlight: Incessant Scribble

http://osonduawaraka.blogspot.com.es/

Incessant Scribble is an African Literary blog owned by Osondu Nnamdi Awaraka born in Lagos, grew up in Port Harcourt and then moved to Houston, Texas where he currently blogs from. He is a graduate from Texas A&M with a Doctor of Pharmacy, will be a licensed pharmacist once he is done with his board exams.


In your blog introduction you said I was born in Lagos, Nigeria in the late 1980's…. I immigrated to America in March 2009… Do you look forward to returning to Nigeria?
Yes, I do! I haven’t been back to Nigeria since I left. My plan was to focus on getting my degree and then go back to visit. I’ll plan my trip once I’m done with my board exams.

What inspired you to start your blog?
I started Incessant Scribble because I wanted to share my writings. I had been writing for some time and I would always show it to my friends and family but I wanted a broader audience. I was initially worried that I wouldn’t be able to blog frequently enough and all the other fears of the unknown but my friend Onyeka Nwelue really, really encouraged me to start. 

How did you fall upon the name “Incessant Scribble”? incessantly scribbling :-), I love it by the way. What does it stand for for you?
Thank you! It spoke to what I felt I wanted to do with my life. To constantly write stories. It’s a need. And even when I’m not jotting down my stories (like during my college years when I was so consumed with school work), I’m constantly just mentally sorting out my stories till I can put them down on paper. 

For how long have you been blogging and for how long do you look forward to book blogging?
I’ve been blogging since March 2008. I plan to keep blogging until my tenth anniversary in March 2018 at the very least. I hope to keep blogging after then but there is only so much time an individual has and so many projects and journeys I hope to embark on in this life. It’s something I’ll figure out in detail as I get closer to March 2018. 

What is the highest amount of book you’ve read in a year? 
Sadly, I don’t have a number for that. I’m so good at keeping tabs on everything but that isn’t something that I’ve bothered with. There are years when I read books without even reviewing them so my literary blog isn’t a reliable guide either. 

How many books did you read last year?
I read and reviewed 16 novels in 2015. 

In your introduction, you said that you got two more years to try and accomplish the literary goals I've always hoped ...... what are those literary goals? Are you close to accomplishing them?

Sunday, 6 November 2016

2016 Summer Read

Hello Autumn! What did I read in Summer?

 

I did not read as much as I would have loved to (as usual) for various reasons, first of all, "The Wretched African" is more of a scholarly read not a story per se. Secondly, Ama is a very well written historical fiction, however it is a dense read. Both factors, for instance and more,  made my summer reading progress very slow. 

As you  might have noticed, my summer read is based mainly on slavery. The East African slave trade (which I did not know about) and the  Transatlantic slave trade.

In addition, with regard to my Psychology degree studies, let me say that I did really well in my subjects, passing one with honours. I was really excited. This semester, I have registered to read Developmental Psychology I (Jean Piaget, Vygotsky and etc), Conflict and Mediation  and Intro. Research Methods in Psychology. I hope to do well again.

Sadly this summer, I found out that Elechi Amadi author of  The Concubine, an African literature classic, passed away on the 29th of June at the age of 82. Read in the guardian

Furthermore, my husband and I traveled the Crete island (Greece), it is one of our best travel experience.


We were able to enjoy sunset right on the beach, something I have always longed for.


I turned 30 on the 6th of September this year and it was such a good feeling! The picture below was actually taken the very day I turned 30.

Sunday, 23 October 2016

Blogger Spotlight: James Murua Literature Blog


James Murua is a blogger and journalist born  in Kenya where he lives and currently blogs from. He has a business degree with a marketing concentration from a Kenyan university. He admits not to be in an academic environment at the moment, however, he is continually learning as part of his professional development. James Murua Literature Blog


What inspired you to start your blog?
I started it as a way to shine a light on books that I was reading that were not being talked about in the blogosphere the way that I would have loved seen done. After talking about it for a while I decided to put my money where my mouth was by registering a domain and started blogging.

How did you fall upon the name James Murua Literature Blog?

Sunday, 16 October 2016

An Image of Africa, 2002, Chinua Achebe ****

An Image of Africa is a collection of essays by the legendary Chinua Achebe. I have his other collection of (extensive) essay called The Education of a British-Protected Child first published in 2009, which I highly enjoyed. Both books were purchased in Spain, Barcelona and San Sebastian respectively.

This collection of essay is divided into two parts: one is "An Image of Africa"; Racism in Conrad's Heart of Darkness  and the other is "The Trouble with Nigeria".

The first part gives a historical perspective of the relationship of Europeans with Africans.
Africa as setting and back drop which eliminates the African as

Sunday, 9 October 2016

Blogger Spotlight: African Book Addict!

Let me introduce you to Darkowaa the blogger behind African Book Addict!

Darkowaa was born in the U.S.A, she moved to Ghana when she was 10 years old where she spent her formative years and later moved back to the U.S.A for undergrad. She curently lives in Accra, Ghana where she blogs from. Some people refers to her as Ghanaian-American, however, she simply likes to be identified as Ghanaian.

She considers herself to be a forever student (welcome to the club). During her undergraduate years, she went to a liberal arts school in the US (Middlebury College) so she studied a bit of everything. However, she eventually focused on Sociology & Anthropology as her major, with pre-dental courses on the side. She is at the moment pursuing her second degree in dentistry - in Accra. 


What inspired you to start your blog?

Sunday, 2 October 2016

Blogger Spotlight

I am currently working on a project called "Blogger Spotlight" it is my way of introducing you to other amazing and fascinating blogs that also discuss African literature. We will get to discover the person (or people) behind the blogs, the books they read, what inspired them to start blogging, their most read author, their favourite writer and books they've read, really enjoyed and highly recommend. They would also introduce us to other literature blogs we might like to explore too.

Let me take this opportunity to thank everyone who have participated, who have accepted to participate and an advance thank you to those who I am yet to ask to participate. Please, feel free to contact me if you'd like to take part in this project.

First Blogger Spotlight post will take place next week!

Thank you.

Sunday, 25 September 2016

The Book of Negroes, 2007, Lawrence Hill *****

Aminatta Diallo born in Bayo, a small village in Western Africa, while returning from attending to a woman in labour with her mother she is abducted and sold into slavery at the age of eleven.

Her journey begins with the long walk towards the coast of West Africa to be shipped to the Americas. She survives the long walk and the sea, however she witnesses how her people were being dehumanised .

On her arrival, she is sold to the owner of an indigo plantation. Luckily, she reconnects with Chekura, a young boy with whom she walked the long walk and sailed the sea. They fall in love and try to form a family. The question here is, how do you really form a family when the law turns you into someone's property.

Her husband Chekura is sent away, she is resold and separated from her

Sunday, 4 September 2016

Ama: A Story Of The Atlantic Slave Trade, 2000, Manu Herbstein ****

Ama is a historical fiction that narrates on the transatlantic slave trade, following the coming of age of a young girl from her village where she is kidnapped and raped, to Brazil.

Ama, her first name is Nandzi. She is captured when she is taking care of her brother alone in her village, sold into the Ashanti Empire, fell in love  with the king and re-sold again. Turned into a sexual companion to one of the old Dutch, against her will, though it kept her away from the dungeon. One situation led to another, she found herself sailing in the ship The Love of Liberty on her way to be sold again in Barbados for the 3rd or 4th time.

In The Love of Liberty, she witnesses the reckless death of her colleagues, how

Monday, 1 August 2016

The Wretched Africans, 2016, Joe Khamisi ****

First of all I'd like to thank Joe Khamisi for reaching out to me and sending me his book for review, I really did not know anything about the South-East African slave trade, or the Arab slave trade neither did I know about the Rabai and Freretown slave settlement.
This book narrates on the history of slavery in East Africa. The Arabs ravaged the land, instigate war to make it easier to capture African citizens in order to force them into slavery through the main slave market in Zanzibar.

The British banned slavery,  though that

Monday, 11 July 2016

Beast of No Nation, 2005, Uzodinma Iweala ****

"Beast of No Nation" is the story of Agu a child-soldier whose narrative has a lot in common with  Birahima's in "Allah is not Obliged", both narrators not older than ten were unable to tell their ordeal in a grammatical correct language, nevertheless it was no deterrent to put their message across. However, let me confess  it somewhat slowed down my reading as they were both children narrating atrocities in an unstructured language which makes it  necessary to reread sometimes.

Agu's village is ravaged by war, his mother

Sunday, 3 July 2016

Spring Read 2016

Summer is finally here and Spring has come to an end. What did I read in Spring?

http://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2016/05/holding-demons-in-small-jars-2016.htmlhttp://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2016/05/madams-maid-other-stories-2016-ayibu.html

http://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2016/06/yoruba-girl-dancing-1991-simi-bedford.htmlhttp://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2016/05/the-in-between-world-of-vikram-lall.html

http://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2016/06/beyond-horizon-1995-amma-darko.htmlhttp://maryokekereviews.blogspot.com.es/2016/06/becoming-abigail-2006-chris-abani.html

I am on page 87 of 416 of Bitter Leaf by Chioma Okereke, I am not sure if I
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...